Everybody Does It

Everybody Does

It doesn’t matter who you are or who you know
Eventually everybody has a time and date they’ll go
Where exactly isn’t clear, the fact is you won’t remain here
It doesn’t mean you did anything wrong it’s just that we don’t stay too long
Whether you live to be 100 or 101 it’ll seem as if your life had just begun
I want to know if it’s ok to grieve for yourself because you want to leave today.
I think I’m too old now, I just feel as if I’ve become a burden somehow.
I spend all my time thinking and planning on how to do it without having to feel it
I have a very low threshold for pain yet I want to be the one that’s blamed
It’s my choice if you hear I’ve passed. It just means I got the guts at last
I’m not the Debi that anyone ever knew I’ve turned into a Debi that’s come unglued
Don’t take that as if I lost my mind it’s merely because my body doesn’t resemble mine
I don’t like being old, crippled and weak I don’t want anyone to take care of me
My mind keeps running 24/7 is why I think I’d be able to sleep better in Heaven
I’m so tired of my complaining I even bore myself until there’s no more complaints remaining
I know all old folks seem to do it but when I was young I swore to myself that I wouldn’t
Well here I am it’s 11:08 and I’m still sitting here contemplating my own fate
It can’t be on a Holiday or even anyone’s birthday. I don’t want to ruin anyone’s day
Every year when a date comes around I don’t want them remembering me passing on
So I think it’s going to be in 2023 a date that no one will think about me.

By D. J. Huggins-Green
December9th,2022@11:16p.m.
Mingo Jct., Ohio

332 Words

Leave a comment