I Knew

I knew before anybody ever told me
Eventually you were gonna’ leave
I saw that you were getting restless
Time to go before you get wreckless
It was only a matter of time
Before you broke this ole’ heart of mine
It’s ok I won’t hold it against you
There’s been too many others since you
For me ever to hold a grudge

Baby I understand how you felt
It’s like when you watch a snowball melt
You want to wait and watch so damn bad
But then when it’s gone you feel so sad
There’s no sense in just hanging around
When we’re from opposite sides of town
It probably would never work out
We’re hanging out with different crowds
Let’s just say I had small hunch

There’s nothing left for you to say now
It would never work out any how
Go ahead and go your own way
Say goodbye and call it a day
Just don’t say we can still be friends
That’s not how a broken heart mends
I need to put distance between us
Drive away with you in my dust

Nothing else left for me to do
Just for me to get over you

BY D. J. Huggins-Green
June 6th,2023@3:02a.m.
Mingo Jct., Ohio

213 Words

Leave a comment