Aw, Bless Your Heart

Aw, bless your heart!
You really did believe,
Nothing you ever did
Could ever make me leave.
You’re just the cutest,
thing on this Earth.
But honey listen to me
And take it for what it’s worth.
You might not know this.
Your daddy probably never said,
the world doesn’t revolve around you.
And, baby girl, it never did.
But that’s ok I’ll teach you,
what true love’s all about
Just lean in a little closer,
‘Cause you know I don’t like to shout!
Love is about giving
everything you ever had..
to the one who chooses,
to give you all you’ll ever have.
Now darling, here’s what’s funny.
That person used to be
the one who’s sitting here telling you how it’s supposed to be.
I turned my head when you cheated!
And when you made a fool out of me!
But the thing I couldn’t tolerate..
Is that you thought I didn’t see!
Yeah, I knew about you
but I waited for you to see,
The biggest mistake you were making,
was losing a man like me!
So little mama,
let’s just let it go.
But before leaving,
I just had to let you know.
Like all the stars above you,
and the flowers beneath your feet..
Was that, I really loved you,
more than anyone else you’ll ever meet!
So bless your heart darlin’,
I hope you’ll find another,
that you can make a fool of,
before He runs for cover!

By D.J. Huggins-Green
July 31rst,2022@1:32 am
Mingo Jct., Ohio

258

Leave a comment