Boy You Lost Me

Boy, you lost me before you ever found me
I don’t understand why you don’t just give up
You turn up at every given opportunity
Following me around like a little lost pup
What is it with you, I really wish I knew
Or perhaps maybe I really don’t
Should I be concerned about you
I wanna’ turn you in but I won’t
Things are getting a little out of sync
I’m not saying it’s all just your fault
It’s just a little later than you think
Please don’t waste time on trying to talk
The world is growing faster than we planned
And if we don’t hurry up and make a change
There will be nothing left for the future of man
Every thing now we have to rearrange
Before it’s all over, said and forever done
Come and sit down with me or let’s take a walk
I’d like to be able to say when it’s all over, that we won
But if the world ends and we can’t breath to talk
How will we discuss our nightly prayers
For the future of all humanity to go on
A new beginning will come in layers
Built from the bottom up or am I wrong
Now do I have your complete attention
Or are you still a non believer of the word
To even think of not going in the right direction
To me and those I know sounds absurd
I don’t pretend to be a devout preacher
I don’t believe in any hypocrisy either
I’d like instead to be a trained teacher
Helping others like you to be a believer
Gods given us every opportunity to follow on his path
But while we waste time thinking he’s watching with scrutiny
Deciding on whether on not he’ll let this world last
So do as you like, take it for what it’s worth
Just remember he’s had your number in his book since your birth

BY D. J. Huggins-Green
February 8th,2023@12:13p.m.
Mingo Jct., Ohio

339 Words

Leave a comment