Sitting Here Listening Part IV

Sitting here now thinking of him
I’ll continue continuing
With our story that first began
With two people that had a plan
I knew I wanted his baby
He didn’t think he was ready
I needed more than he could give
So I had to do what I did
I gave birth to our little boy
He was so overwhelmed with joy
I faced the fact I was now grown
With a family of my own
Time went on and I met someone
I was desperate to be done
I still loved him that never changed
But sometimes things need rearranged
I still kept him in memories
Of our many old yesterday’s
Still I had new obligations
Facing new realizations
I could no longer carry on
A relationship that was gone
But every once in a great while
We’d see each other and just smile
Having been married for thirty years
I realized my greatest fears
I had spent my life with someone
Who had always wanted to run
We had stayed married for too long
Our kids grew up and they moved on
When my family grew apart
I knew he was still in my heart
I looked him up and made that call
Asked if he thought of me at all
He answered yes what took so long
I said I wondered if I was wrong
Had I waited a
bit longer
Would our love have gotten stronger
We chose to meet and reminisced
About the things we might’ve missed
He said You know Deb we were kids
No need to excuse what we did
We both did the best we could’ve
No sense worrying of should’ve
We hugged each other one last time
Said goodbye to that love of mine
Then I got too comfortable
Life sent me one final stumble
Last year my son called me to say
Did you know that he passed away
I hung up and silently cried
For the fact that my true love died
Sitting here now thinking of him
I wonder how things might’ve been

THE END!!

352 Words

3 Comments

  1. Your poem, brimming with emotions about love’s wild ride of happiness and heartbreak, really strikes a chord – we’ve all danced that dance in our own special way. Love is like this artist that paints our lives with deep shades of emotions—joyful surprises to sorrowful goodbyes—that stick around long after the moment has gone.

    The intricacies of love’s journey teach us that while relationships may evolve, the memories we share still touch our souls.

    Love’s path winds through both joy and sorrow.

    Your empathy for those who’ve navigated the challenging terrain of love and loss is palpable. Love is a universal thread, one that weaves joy and heartache into the fabric of our shared human experience. Sacrifice comes hand-in-hand with commitment.

    Your poetry vividly mirrors our collective experience, wrestling with the unyielding progression of time and the choices we navigate, all encased within what might have been or could yet come to pass. Saying that last farewell, although it’s steeped in sorrow, is a deep recognition of how fleeting life and love can be.

    Your longing for your lost love, seen through the prism of solitude in our vast world, really captures that deep sense of loneliness that can follow loss. Though the ache of loss persists, may memories of happier times offer some comfort. Cheers! God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment